top of page

Update: May 2020

Hi friends! I hope you are all doing well in the midst of life and all the changes that have been going on lately. I have had it really good here in Australia; our time and intensity of "lock-down" has been fairly mild in comparison to other places around the world. Right now, we are in the midst of Autumn with Winter quickly approaching, so I try to go on walks whenever I can to soak up the good weather.

In other fun news, I have gotten to watch two weddings in the last month. The first was my old roommate, who recently moved to Africa to get married and join the YWAM base that is there. And the second was my brother's!!!! I was originally meant to come home this month for his wedding, but with all of the travel restrictions, that did not happen. So, instead, I got to join in via WhatsApp and it was so so special.

My housemates and I watching our friend's wedding in Africa!!!

My housemates and I watching our friend's wedding in Africa!!

My wonderful brother and his beautiful new wife, Emma!!!

Just for fun, here is a picture of my housemates and I fully giving into our status as plant moms.

Exciting YWAM News:

I am currently studying the Bible through a class called the Bible Core Corse (or BCC). We will read through the entire Bible in 3 months and study 12 books in depth during that time.

This is the first time YWAM Perth has run an online school and there have definitely been some adventures. We have gotten to start meeting in small groups which has been such a blessing! Also, there will be a few more online schools running over the next few months. This is super exciting because they will be available for people all over the world to be part of and because of the nature of the schools and the adjustments being made, some of the schools that normally require a Discipleship Training School as a pre-requisite, have waived that requirement for the time-being. Basically, that means that just about anyone, just about anywhere can be part of these schools! Here is a link to the website if you're interested in checking them out!

Testimony Time:

So far, this school has been incredible in so many ways, and challenging in even more. As our speaker this week said, you can't spend hours each week reading the Bible and not be convicted, if you can it speaks to the hardness of your heart.

For the past couple of months, but more so over the last few weeks, I have felt this tension in my spirit. Like something is wrong, but I just couldn't put my finger on what it was. I kept recognizing things like competitiveness, low self-esteem, and a need to achieve--all side effects of something hidden beneath the surface.

In class this week we have been studying 1 Peter. This is a letter that Peter wrote the churches in Asia Minor at the start of Roman persecution under Emperor Nero. He talks about struggles and trials, and I'm sure several of the verses are familiar to many Christians. However, the "fiery trials" they were facing at the time were far from metaphorical.

At the end of lectures one night, we had a time of application where many people in the class responded to the things that God was speaking to them. During this time, I had a massive revelation, and recognized a root of pride in my heart. I realized that this is what had been causing all these "side-effects" that I had been observing in my life. As I pondered this more, and allowed God to search my heart, I recognized a massive lie that I had been believing. More than I lie really, almost more of a world view--that there is some sort of cosmic scoreboard of my "good deeds" and that through them, I have earned "repayment" of some sort.

If you are familiar with the story of the prodigal son, this is basically the character of his older brother. The guy that stayed home and did all the right things and got angry when his "screw-up" brother got rewarded with a party when he desperately desired reward for his hard work.

I suddenly realized that I had been living my life as if this was true, and because of that, I felt like I deserved something. I, like countless others, had plans cancelled and changed due to Covid-19, and somewhere deep inside my heart, bitterness had been growing.

So, the big question is: once I realize I have pride, bitterness, and resentment, what do I do?

Well, first and foremost REPENT-- I think this is so often skipped over and forgotten, but it is absolutely VITAL in maintaining and growing our relationship with Christ. He commands us to do this, it is necessary!

"Repent, then, and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped out, that times of refreshing may come from the Lord."

-Acts 3:19

After that I was a bit stuck again...

While listening to my church's worship service and they started playing a song I had never heard before called "I speak Jesus" (If you haven't heard it, check it out!). The song talks about the power of Jesus' name and the power of speaking his name over the tough areas of our lives. I think sometimes I forget how powerful Jesus is and I try to do things on my own. I try to fix my life in my own strength and power and just end up utterly tired and frustrated. I'm learning that I need to loosen my grasp on life and desire for control, and instead, open my mouth to declare truth over the lies and life over death.

Jesus will fight for us. He wants to fight for us. As the song says, His name is power, His name is healing, His name is life! So, whatever you are going through right now, I hope you are encouraged by my little journey of discovery and by the incredible power of the name of Jesus to overcome literally anything. And join with me in declaring his name and the victory he bought on the cross over your life as well.

Because He says,

"In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you all for the many ways you love and support me on this journey in Missions. I am so incredible grateful for you all. Please be praying for me as I continue in this school that my heart would stay soft to what the Lord is speaking and that I would walk in obedience to Him. Also, please let me know if there is any way I can be praying for you, I would love to do that :)

Lots of love,

Haley

bottom of page