top of page

Manila

Manila, I don't know how you did it, and I certainly wasn't expecting it, but somewhere along the way you managed to steal part of my heart. Not only did you show me once again the incredible beauty of experiencing another nation and culture, but you reminded me why I do what I do. Why I travel long hours and spend sleepless nights in airports to go to places I've never seen before. Why I live across the world from my family and pack up my life a few times a year. Why I talk to strangers and tell them about Jesus.

There were so many moments when you reminded me of the reward we receive when we seek first the kingdom of God. Whether it was the first day, meeting Aireen and getting to see God open a deaf ear, or watching Princess decide to follow Jesus, or teaching the local youth how to do evangelism, you showed me over and over again that the reward is always greater than the cost.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Picture time!!!

(Some of the little girls from the slum nearby)

(Eating avocado ice cream)

(The view from inside a Tricycle)

(Yummy yummy coconut :D )

(Glamour shots after a wedding at the church)

(Games with the kiddos during the feeding program)

(Wearing our masks after Volcano Toal erupted and spewed ash everywhere)

(Open air evangelism with the local youth)

(Me and my buddy, Christian)

(Our neighborhood (barangay) San Perfecto)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So, how do I sum up my time in Manila?

To be honest, I don't really know. God did so much in 5 weeks, I am just still overwhelmed thinking about it. We saw salvations and healings, we saw a multiplication of food (many, many times) and divine appointments, but I think the thing that really moved me the most was the revival we got to see within the youth.

We worked with the youth group every week on Friday nights and Sundays and quickly developed relationship with them. One of the leaders, Adam, was one of our main contacts and helped show us around the area and joined us for evangelism times. He really has a heart to see the youth on fire for God. We were able to do teachings each week on topics like hearing God's voice, fear of the Lord, and Evangelism. I was able to lead the teaching on the fear of the Lord and was really touched by how open all of the youth were with sharing and wanting to go deeper in their faith. A couple of days later, on Sunday, the youth joined us for an Open air and we taught them a skit that the preformed. I was so impressed by their willingness to talk the people in the crowd and share Jesus. A few of them even got to pray for people. When we all shared afterwards, they were so encouraged and said they wanted to do it again.

That night we had a worship service with them and something really incredible happened. Holy Spirit showed up in a big way and touched every person in the room. People were crying and praying, a few of the kids asked for prayer, some of them prayed for each other. Towards the end, the pastor's son gathered all of the youth in a circle and they prayed together. I remember just standing there and looking at the circle of youth with tears streaming down their faces and I just cried. It was so beautiful. At that moment all I could think about was how unbelievably grateful I was to be right there in that moment. We were truly standing on holy ground. I really believe that something happened that night. People encountered God in a new way, and my prayer was, and still is, that they would never forget the God that met them in that moment. I wouldn't trade that night for anything, because that night I got to see a glimpse of heaven, and wow there is nothing like it.

(This picture is a very small representation of the celebration that happened at the end of the worship night)

(last goodbyes)

I pray that one day I can come back to this amazing place and see all of these incredibly beautiful people again :)

**UPDATE:

Currently I am part of a group of 4 in Jakarta, Indonesia. Please be praying for us as we spend the next month in this city. Stomach "issues" have been a problem for us so far, so please be praying for health!! So far everything is going really well--will update with stories soon!! :) Thank you so much for reading, encouraging, praying, and supporting me!

I'm excited to share more of what God is doing.

Also, I am coming home in May!!!! The main reason is that my brother is getting married. EEEEEEPP!!!!!! I'm so excited! But, also I'm really looking forward to seeing friends and family and reconnecting with people:) I will be home for the Month of May, and then will head back to Perth. Can't wait to see you guys soon!!

bottom of page